Hello Everyone

Introduce Yourself To The Other Members
chinatyke
Donor

Hello Everyone

Post by chinatyke »

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here.

I worked in Barlick between 1962 and 1964, first at Windle and Bowkers accountants and then at John C Carlson at Butts Mill, which was taken over by T B Ford whilst I was there. I got the sack on leap day 29th February 1964 which I always regarded as my bad luck that there was an extra day that year. :grin: I think the reason given was insubordination and not that I was a cheeky little brat who swore at his boss!

I was born in Earby but left there when I was 4 years old and moved to Colne. Now I'm retired and living the ex-pat life in the tropics in the People's Republic of China, a great country. I love reading about the Craven area and it brings back many memories when I read the postings. I hope I can contribute in the future.

Graham Lowcock
Sunray10
Regular User

Re: Hello Everyone

Post by Sunray10 »

Welcome Graham from China. Hope you enjoy yourself here on OGFB there's lots of topics to look at and plenty of interesting photos and much, much more. And plenty of fond memories of Earby where you grew up as well as the surrounding towns and villages.
Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by Stanley »

Graham, welcome to the site. Pile into the topics and join in, hope you enjoy the experience.
Stanley Challenger Graham
Stanley's View
scg1936 at talktalk.net

"Beware of certitude" (Jimmy Reid)
The floggings will continue until morale improves!
chinatyke
Donor

Post by chinatyke »

Thanks Guys. :smile:
SAC

Post by SAC »

Hello Graham
I am interested to know when you worked at Windle and Bowker was it on Station Road ? We have just been talking about the year it moved from upstairs at the Midland bank on Newtown. Also who were the Owners then. I vaughley remember an old Mr Bowker in the late 70's but he only came in to visit not to work.
Thanks SA
chinatyke
Donor

Post by chinatyke »

Hello SA.