SOUGH BRIDGE MILL PART 3

Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

SOUGH BRIDGE MILL PART 3

Post by Stanley »

SOUGH BRIDGE MILL (3)

It’s 1946 and Sough Mill has a new role in life. Bristol Tractors have moved in and set up three separate firms, Bristol Tractors, Forecast Foundry and Kelbrook Metal Products. They are employing 350 workers which is more than a weaving shed would have taken on the eight loom system. On the whole, Earby has come out of the war in good shape, increased skills, two new firms and a bright future. As I’ve said before, every cloud has a silver lining.
The Foundry and KMP not only did the Bristol Tractors work, they took outside contracts as well. I remember my father, an old time engineer by trade, coming in the shop one day after a visit to the foundry just to see what was going on and he was muttering to himself. I asked him what was wrong and he told me he had just been watching them casting rail chairs for British Railways. I asked him what was wrong with that and he said that the chairs they were casting were for bull-headed rails when he was quite sure that BR had standardised on flat bottom rail, a completely different article. I don’t know what came of that, I suppose BR paid up and took delivery. Not a good way to run a railway!
I have an idea that the sales director at the time was a man called Bill Gallemore. He must have known Bill Harrison the man I was driving for because we got the contract for delivering the rain water goods they made all over the country and that was my first load when I went on to the tramp. I remember my first job was guttering for a bonded warehouse at Menstrie in Scotland. They kept us going for about five years before I finished and went on the cattle wagons.