LOW WAGES

Stanley
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

LOW WAGES

Post by Stanley »

LOW WAGES

I was talking to a young friend the other day and we got round to wages. He had great difficulty grasping that in my first job as an apprentice farmer my wage was £1 a week and my keep but could see the sense in that as I was a learner. However, when I told him that my first regular wage as a wagon driver was 15p an hour and I got married off that he was completely baffled. How could anyone keep a family and buy a seven acre farm of less than £10 a week! I can understand his bemusement though many of my older readers can tell the same story.
This got me to thinking about wages today and the contrasts with fifty years ago. The first thing that strikes me is that my wages then were controlled by a 'Wages Council', The wages councils were statutory bodies that set minimum rates of pay and other conditions of employment in low-wage industries in the UK for much of the twentieth century. With the exception of the Agricultural Wages Board, they were abolished by the Conservative government of John Major in the early 1990s. The Labour government of 1997 went some way to addressing this by instituting the National Minimum wage but it seems to me that the level at which this was set was well below what we got from the wages councils in real terms. Housing in particular has become far more expensive and there is no way a person on the minimum wage could afford to buy Hey Farm!